4 – 8 June

4 June, 19:00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall
Once Upon a Time in Vilnius…Virtuoso Passages

Soloists: MASSIMO MERCELLI (flute, Italy)
SERGEJ KRYLOV (violin; Italy, Russia)
Artistic Director Sergej Krylov


ANTONIO VIVALDI – Concerto for flute and orchestra Op. 10 No. 2 in G minor, RV 439 La Notte (The Night)
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH – Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
ENNIO MORRICONE – Notturno Passacaglia for flute and orchestra (World premiere)
NICCOLÒ PAGANINI-GIEDRIUS KUPREVIČIUS -12 Caprices from the cycle 24 Caprices

The Vilnius Festival hosts the meeting of the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra led by violinist Sergej Krylov, its temperamental artistic director always swarming with unique ideas, and flute virtuoso Massimo Mercelli, touring from Carnegie Hall in New York to Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, from Saint Petersburg to Jerusalem. He collaborates with Y. Bashmet, K. Penderecki, Ph. Glass and C. Gasdia, appears with Moscow Soloists, I Virtuosi Italiani, Salzburg Soloists, Berlin Philharmonics, Vienna Symphony Orchestra and Rome Opera Theatre Orchestra among other distinguished orchestras. Mercelli is the founder and artistic director of Emilia Romagna Festival.

The charismatic Sergej Krylov has led the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra for three years. Maestro Rostropovich named him one of the world’s best five violinists. Alongside the concertos by baroque masters A. Vivaldi and J. S. Bach, tonight’s programme features G. Kuprevičius’ approach to the Paganini’s Caprices and the World premiere of Morricone’s Notturno Passacaglia, dedicated to the 60th anniversary of the European Festivals Association.

Partner of the concert – Italian Culture Institute

5 June, 19:00
Vilnius St. Johns’ Church
Medieval Europe Singing
Early Music Ensemble VENANCE FORTUNAT (France)

FRANÇOISE LEVY (mezzo-soprano)
ERWAN PICQUET (baritone)


FULBERT DE CHARTRES – Chant Stirps and polyphonic version for 2 voices
PETER THE VÉNÉRABLE – Chant Assumens Ihésus Petrus et Jacobum
Chant Vox in rama from the “Graduel de Bellelay” (12th c.) manuscript
PETER THE VÉNÉRABLE – Chant Claruit magnitudo Dei
Chant Ibo Michi from the “Graduel de Bellelay” (12th c.) manuscript
Chant Veni Pater from the manuscript (13th c.) of Maigrauge convent
Chant Plus Belle que Flore from the 13th c. manuscript
Chorale Viderunt Omnes (Notre-Dame School of Paris, 13th c.)
Chorale In Pace after Orlando di Lasso (16th c.)
Chant Agnus Dei from the manuscript (13th c.) of Maigrauge convent
Chant Canto de la Sibila from Manacor (Mallorca)
Chant Kyrie Sol Justicie from Ivrea manuscript (Italy, 14th c.)
Chant Ex Eius Tumba from manuscript of Florence (13th c.)
PETER THE VÉNÉRABLE – Chant Assumptis Hodie

Vilnius Festival presents the Early Music Ensemble Venance Fortunat from France. Lauded for its subtle early music interpretations it was among the pioneers of rediscovery of the medieval musical treasures in the 20th century. The members of the ensemble not only investigate the ancient performance practice traditions, but also stress the importance of acquainting themselves with the acoustics of the venue of an upcoming performance – be it a medieval or gothic church, or hall of a time-honoured palace. The musicians enrich their performance with eloquent body movements evoking those from the old paintings. The programme Medieval Europe Singing features a retrospective of 12th – 16th c. chants from the manuscripts found in France, Switzerland, Italy and Spain.

Partner of the concert – French Institute

7 June, 19:00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall
Seven Reincarnations. Recital of the distinguished Lithuanian soloist Almas Švilpa

ALMAS ŠVILPA (bass-baritone; Germany, Lithuania)


Suite Michelangelo Buonarroti’s Sonnets
Hercules’ aria from the oratorio Hercules
Figaro’s aria from the opera Le nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro)
Farlaf’s rondo from the opera Ruslan and Lyudmila
Aleko’s cavatina from the opera Aleko
Attila’s aria from the opera Attila

The Dutchman’s monologue from the opera Der fliegende Holländer (The Flying Dutchman)

The recital of bass-baritone Almas Švilpa has been anticipated in Lithuania for a long time. His talent is cherished by classical music connoisseurs around German-speaking countries. Švilpa has been a soloist with the Aalto Theatre in Essen (Germany) for fifteen years; has appeared in various theatres in Germany, Austria and the Netherlands. The list of his roles is impressive: the Dutchman and Wotan (Wagner’s Der fliegende Holländer, Das Rheingold, Die Walküre), Mephistopheles (Gounod’s Faust), Don Basilio (Rossini’s Il barbiere di Siviglia), Sparafucile (Verdi’s Rigoletto), Figaro, Leporello and Papageno (Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni and Die Zauberflöte), Johanaan (R. Strauss’ Salome), Escamillo (Bizet’s Carmen), Boris Godunov (Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov), etc. He appeared as Farlaf in a premiere of Glinka’s Ruslan and Lyudmila at the opening of Moscow Bolshoi Theatre after its renovation in 2011. Pianist Audronė Juozauskaitė accompanies a number of renowned Lithuanian soloists: V. Noreika, I. Milkevičiūtė, E. Kaniava, V. Juozapaitis, V. Prudnikovas, E. Montvidas, etc. In 2010 she earned first prize at the International Forum-Competition held in Lonigo (Italy). According to Prof. P. Feuchtwanger, she is a pianist of an exceptional sensitivity, attentiveness and mastery.

8 June, 19:00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall
Closing Concert. The Return of the Cello Maestro Mischa Maisky

Soloist MISCHA MAISKY (cello, Belgium)
Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Juozas Domarkas


JUOZAS PAKALNIS – Romantic Overture
DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH – Concerto for cello and orchestra No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107
JOHANNES BRAHMS – Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90

Dedicated to the 60th anniversary of the European Festivals Association, the Vilnius Festival’s closing concert invites to you meet the cello maestro Mischa Maisky. The ast time he visited Lithuania seven years ago (2005) leaving the Vilnius Festival’s audience mesmerised. Born in Riga, residing in Belgium the world renowned cellist made his Carnegie Hall (New York) debut aged 25 appearing with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra led by William Steinberg. After this concert an anonymous admirer gave him an 18th century Montagnana cello on which he still performs today. Maisky is the first performer whom the Deutsche Grammophon trusted to record Bach’s complete works for cello.

Tonight Maisky and the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra led by Maestro Robertas Šervenikas perform Shostakovich’s complicated, facetiously ironical and caustically humorous First Cello Concerto. The programme also features Brahms’ Third Symphony, dubbed the most ‘Brahmsian’ of his four symphonies, as well as Juozas Pakalnis’ Romantic Overture on the occasion of the Lithuanian composer’s 100th anniversary of his birth.